Nos Galan Gaeaf

Today I was trying to find something musical that seemed apt for the day. This seemed just about the best fit:

I also appreciated listening to these this morning, and think I might have them as waking up music tomorrow morning:

With that last Mumford and Sons one, I’ve known it a long time, but that’s the first time I’ve seen the video… really good visual story telling!

Then this eve I had some time thinking on the beginning of winter, and the beginnings of my own cultural heritage, so managed to find a few pieces of music that helped me reflect on all that. It actually started with finding out some of the translations of something that was originally a welsh folk tune…

Cold is the man who can’t love,
Fa la la la la, la la la la,
The old mountains of dear Wales,
Fa la la la la, la la la la,
To him and his warmest friend,
Fa la la, la la la, la la la,
A cheerful holiday next year,
Fa la la la la, la la la la.

Cold is the snow on Mount Snowdon,
Fa la la la la, la la la la,
Even though it has a flannel banket on it,
Fa la la la la, la la la la,
Cold are the people who don’t care,
Fa la la, la la la, la la la,
To meet together on New Year’s Eve,
Fa la la la la, la la la la.

Seemed rather fitting for the dark beginning of the year and the beginning of winter.

Which then led me on to a few other famous tunes that reflect some of my heritage:

Thought a little translation on that latter one might help…

English singable translation (René Micallef) :

Guard, Lord, forever, as you´ve done erst and ceasing never,

This land whose name we received, our motherly-named Mother.

Her you have draped with a light whose grace exceeds all other.

On those who govern, sovereign God, bestow understanding,

Grant wellness to those who work, largesse to those employing,

Make firm, make just all our bonds, the peace we are enjoying.
Simplified English translation (May Butcher) :

Guard her, O Lord, as ever Thou hast guarded!

This Motherland so dear whose name we bear!

Keep her in mind, whom Thou hast made so fair!

May he who rules, for wisdom be regarded!

In master mercy, strength in man increase!

Confirm us all, in unity and peace!

Which brings me back around to this one, relevant to my more recent past and present (& I hope future):

Which also reminds me… I saw this news article about a recent exciting archaeological find locally:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-south-east-wales-24723765

And also in the news, I spotted a modern day saint that I shall remember today:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-24653643

Leave a Reply

