My Heroines…

Today I had two reminders of that sober question, what kind of old lady am I going to make myself into?

One, a fictional detective, created by agatha christie, has returned to bbc iplayer, with the actress I consider to be THE image of Miss Marple, Joan Hickson. I remember as a child watching it wanted to be able to knit and light a fire and manage a garden like she did, as well as to see and understand people clearly, her real genius. And one real life heroine, who at the age of 107 could say this:

“Hatred of other human beings will have to be totally eliminated throughout our land and that is what I, in the short time left to me, am still campaigning for – peace,”

There’s more about her here.

Leave a Reply

