GOOD NEWS

So I saw this on the BBC about Pope Francis and welled up with joy! These were the particular phrases that brought delight to me:

“The church’s pastoral ministry cannot be obsessed with the transmission of a disjointed multitude of doctrines to be imposed insistently….. the Catholic Church must work to heal the wounds of its faithful and seek out those who have been excluded or have fallen away…..

The most important thing is the first proclamation: Jesus Christ has saved you. And the ministers of the Church must be ministers of mercy above all.”

Amen. Amen. Amen.

On a similar theme of mercy (and in fact justice) and awesome blogger has become a published journalist, and she’s got something important to say: YOU CAN STARVE ON BENEFITS IN THIS COUNTRY!

Having seen people going through the hideous hoops required & still getting inappropriately penalised for the crime of being poor, I am keen to highlight this, so you ONE PERSON READING THIS BLOG, consider yourself told. However, I think this youtube clip makes the point in a much more droll manner, and possibly has a suggestion for you…

ATOS(sers) satirised

Along which subversive lines, I had to share this… I love it… Pirate Jesus

Something which seemed a little to close to home, and yet nevertheless drew a wry smile (at least for one of my spiritual homes) was this (un)welcome page.

Perhaps it’s just a reflection of the state of some of Eileen’s etherweb friends, at least judging by this reflection from Burton.

However, this also appeared from the Beaker Folk, and to me it is the most perfect summary of my understanding of divine healing in beautiful concise satirical form.

Finally I want to end with something, which may seem (to you my invisible reader) like a “downer.” I suppose in one sense it really is, I want to talk about suicide and mental health. Actually, no, I do that a lot already, I want people, all people, but especially the communities of Christians that I know and love, to know that these are GOOD things to talk about. These are incarnational, positive, beneficial, protective, healing, clarifying, guiding through dark valleys kind of topics, and so it is a good and beautiful thing to trust someone enough to talk about these topics, or to have the privilege of being someone’s listener. It relates directly to the quarter/third of us that will suffer with a mental health problem at some time in our lives… and directly to the 3/4 (or 2/3) who will live with and love these people. Which is why this blog by Haydon Spenceley delighted me.

Leave a Reply

